The last Ukrainian flag flying: Russian conquest divides soldiers in Crimea from colleagues, families, countries

“I don’t even know myself why I’m leaving,” she said. “I don’t even know who’s betraying us any more, the Russians or the Ukrainians. I have a child; how can I leave him and go I don’t know where? And the worst thing is I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to return for him.” 

Medinskaya does not see leaving the army as a solution – if she does, she will lose her income and pension. 

And joining the Russian army, as many of her colleagues have agreed to do, is impossible for her. “I just can’t see how I can give my oath again. I can’t do it. All that’s left is to be honest with myself and not to be ashamed in front of my child. But I’m sure nothing good is waiting for me in Ukraine.”

Read more: HERE

This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.